A childhood memory

I’m nearing the end of Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain, and it made me think of one dinner my family and I had of the trip we took to Disney World many years ago. 

When I was a kid I took a book with me everywhere. Reading a restaurant dinner table was completely normal in my mind because I’d never been told differently. 

My family went to dinner at the restaurant in our hotel one night, the Wilderness Lodge, and I took my book with me, just like I would have at home. 

Image
via

The waiter arrived to take our drink order and told me to put my book down, I should be enjoying time with my family since I was on a family vacation. I put my book down, waited for him to walk away, and then walked out to the garden behind the lobby, desperately trying to hold back my tears until I made it through the lobby, away from people. My dad followed (or was the one who suggested going outside in the first place?) and helped calm me down and eventually we went back inside. 

Needless to say we did not linger over dinner. I’m sure the guy was just teasing, but to my fragile, 12-year-old heart it was genuine criticism. In part because it made sense. 

I didn’t intend this to be a sad or upsetting memory, just another reflection of how I’ve grown. I’m even getting to the point where I’ll go get a drink by myself if no one is available to join me on a random Wednesday night.

Yoga followed by wine, it really is the best.

 

Image

Leave a Reply

