If there is one thing I know…

it is that I know nothing. Oh how wise of Socrates. 

Today’s blog prompt is to “educate us on something you know a lot about or are good at,” and holy crap, does it have me stumped.

I could talk about nutrition, but I’m just beginning my education in that subject, so I don’t feel qualified yet.

Paleo nutrition and lifestyle is the biggest thing on my mind these days, but I’ve just begun exploring it and don’t know a lot about the science behind it. (Come on Interlibrary Loan, bring me those books I’ve requested…)

I’m big on book learning. I knit, but only if I have a pattern to follow. I cook, but only if I have a recipe (and only because it’s cheaper and healthier than eating out). I read a lot. It’s kind of what I do. 

I’ve always loved books and reading. My parents used to comment on how I could be in the living room with my brother and completely tune out whatever tv show he was watching, completely absorbed in the story playing through my head. I have to admit that finding such enthralling books is harder these days, but sometimes you can stumble on some real gems. 

I’m in the somewhat unique situation of being surrounded by books all day at work. Books going out, books coming back, books on every floor. When I first started working at the library I would make a physical list of books to read, and my coworkers quickly (and kindly!) turned me on to GoodReads. I still listed every book that passed over my desk that sounded interesting, and quickly realized that I’d never be able to keep up. So I gave that up. 

I now use it to keep track of my opinions on books, how well I liked them or why I didn’t. I’m also friends with most of my coworkers and some friends from college and I enjoy the daily emails of changes to their book lists, whether it’s something they want to read, a four star rating on a book they just finished, or a full thoughtful review. 

If you’re looking for new books to read, check out GoodReads! You don’t have to be a member to look around. Friend me, if you like what you see.

Image

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

