Birthday eve

Hello! I’m having a pretty good day 🙂

Today is the one day between my two summer classes, so I got a full hour-long lunch break and got to leave at 4:00!

And even better, I got flowers at work! The flower company screwed up, they were supposed to come tomorrow (on my actual birthday), but they really, really brightened my day! I haven’t ever gotten flowers at work and I don’t think my coworkers have ever seen my smile so big 🙂 A huge thank you to ma famille! I left them at work so that I can have a smile when I get there tomorrow too, but I’ll take a picture of them sometime soon.

I have to admit that I was seriously thrown off by the flowers. I received a birthday card that said to wait until the third to open and when the flowers came I started to think I might be going a little crazy. I haven’t really known what day of the week it is all week, and then everyone thinking today was my birthday, well…. I’m not going to complain about a two day birthday!

To continue the birthday fun Hubs decided to give me my gift tonight as well. I said he could give it to me at breakfast and his response was “but then you won’t have time to prepare, you’ll already be dressed.” That raised an eyebrow 🙂 The box was too small for any of the possibilities I thought of though.

IMG_3007

He did good! And now I get to wear them tomorrow without going through several outfit changes first! I really love them, and they aren’t actually a set, either. They’re from a shop in town that sells a lot of local artists work, but this is buy a man called Kit Heath who is actually British. Love! I might be following in my mother’s footsteps and be a bit of an anglophile. Love British history… but that’s another story.

Seriously though, how pretty is that? 🙂

He also stopped by Earthfare on his way home from work and bought salad makings and cod for dinner. While he cooked, Ollie and I played

IMG_3011

And Hubs and Gypsy read

IMG_3014

And then he served me a delightful dinner of spinach salad with sliced walnuts and dried blueberries with balsamic vinegar, honey, and lemon juice.

IMG_3016

And cod marinated in white wine and mustard, served over mushroom and herb couscous, with sauteed garlic and onions on top.

IMG_3017

He’s one of those people who can come up with combinations of spices off the top of his head, so there’s no recipe for this. I have leftovers for tomorrow though!

I’m also very excited for dinner tomorrow night. Hubs is taking me to Farm 255! I posted about my love for Farm’s food philosophy here, how they have their own farm and grown their vegetables organically while raising their animals on pasture without hormones or antibiotics. Their menu can change daily depending on the day’s harvest, but this is one place that I might actually order meat from because I trust them to raise their animals humanely. In any case, I’m in love with the idea of them but have yet to actually eat from them 🙂 Tomorrow’s my chance! I am so, so excited.

Tomorrow my basic psyc class starts, so I’m back to no lunches and working from open to close, but I at least have dinner to look forward to. Goodnight y’all!

5 Comments

  1. All I came up with was the fish and the wine+mustard(which is spicy mustard with apple cider vinegar btw) you found me all the other ingredients! I’m not taking responsibility for that dinner 🙂

  2. So creative! I reallly like Martha Stewart’s Great Food Fast cookbook! Everything in it looks so good and healthy and the ones I’ve tried have been DELISH!

    Oh yah…Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

