My inspirations

Howdy friends! My apologies for the absence. I’m really into my books right now and not so much cooking, studying or blogging. My Google reader has been extremely neglected too. But I have not forgotten about you, friends!

My last attempt at food creativity was a good two weeks ago, when I attempted to modify and make Post Punk Kitchen’s snobby joes. I remembered that I needed a can of tomato paste for it, but other than that it was loosely based.

IMG_2895

These were still tasty, but not quite what the creator meant for them to be I would imagine. The biggest difference was subbing some of a bag of a frozen pepper and onion mix for the yellow onion and green pepper. It would have been so much better with fresh onion. That and my oregano expired. Oh and I forgot I was halving the recipe so it was a tad heavy on the tomato paste. More lycopene for me!

IMG_2896

******

In other news, after almost following the spring training plan I picked up for a week, I then took the weekend and next week off. Of course. Silly book. I blame Diana Gabaldon, though this is what broke the weekend:

IMG_2897

Hubs’s new toy. (Looks kinda like a bug, doesn’t it?) Also known as death mobile. Notice the lack of back rest or even handles for the second rider. Yeah….

IMG_2899

If ever you are looking for an inner thigh workout, my friends, get your mate a crotch rocket. Or a jet ski. Either one will work.

*******

In any case, I’m back on the training wagon: pounded out a three mile run (without music! so refreshing) followed by level one of the Jillian’s 30 Day Shred. I’m finally able to do all of the reps! Not saying I’m not making some rather unfeminine noises as I do so, but I’m doing it!

I’m done with my evening lab, so I’m going to see how it works as written. Tomorrow’s the last day of class! Then I have a week and a half till the final… Can’t I just get it over with?

I also really, really want to do this: Tri to Beat Cancer.

TRI_CANCER_logo3

It’s local and it would be my first! And since I’m taking classes I can use the school’s pool for free to train for the 400 m swim. I just need to get another one piece and get my bike tuned up. And scrounge up $80 for the entrance fee…

And, its only two weeks after fall semester begins and my schedule gets insane. Can we say taper period? 😀

I’m pretty stoked.

*******

I’m also pretty stoked that my buddy Julie (whose blog Julie vs. Vegetables you should all be reading) gave me my very first blog award!

happy_1011

Here are the rules:
1. Copy and paste the award on your blog.
2. List who gave the award to you and use a link to her/his blog.
3. List 10 things that make you happy.

  • Date nights with Hubs
  • My silly puppy (currently wet on my lap, he was playing peeping tom to my shower so got pulled in)
  • A fast, easy run that makes me feel like I can do anything
  • Cuddling on the couch with said puppy and a really good book (been spending too much time on this lately!
  • A good sweat (assuming I’m seeking one out, not just from a walk across campus)
  • Drinks with my running buddy (who I haven’t seen in weeks and is about to graduate)
  • Girl talk with bff Alex
  • My ‘stories’: Glee and Vampire Diaries
  • That perfect 68 degrees and sunny which is so elusive in the south
  • A new semester or race that gives me a new direction to head in, a new goal to meet, new drive in life.

4. Pass the award on to other bloggers and visit their blog to let them know about the award.

  • Caitlin of Healthy Tipping Point: One of my most favorite healthy living bloggers. I love her sense of humor. I wish we could be real life friends! (I’d say that about everyone here though.) Plus its her birthday!!!
  • Lo of Honey Nut Lo: For always makin’ me crack a smile with her outrageous weekend recaps. Keep them coming, lady!
  • Ashley of Health Ashley: Officially a vegan ultra-runner. Totally an inspiration and someone I hope to actually meet in person this summer! (Come on Bondi Band, send her to Atlanta!) She’s so sweet and I could really learn a lot from her.
  • Frayed Laces: What can I say, another inspiration. Both grad student and ultra-athlete, training to complete her first half Ironman in two months. Seriously makes me think that my beginning foray into athleticism while working full time and taking classes just might be possible.
3 Comments

  1. YAY!!!! I just randomly decided to get caught up with some of your blog…. and am SOOOO excited that I make the top ten things that make you happy!! 🙂 Girl talk makes me happy too, love… and I’m already looking forward to our next girl night!

Leave a Reply

