Who's afraid?

This is a kind of random post, but at least I’m posting, right?

First I’d like to share my ‘usual’ at my new favorite Mexican restaurant in town. This is their garden burrito: spinach, zucchini, squash, tomato, and onion. And its mostly spinach! Awesome 🙂 Makes me feel better about those yummy margaritas.

IMG_2867

Friday evening Hubs and I went on a double date with Dan and Alex. We saw Sherlock Holmes at the dollar theater (definitely amusing! I’d recommend renting it if you think you’d be interested) and then went to Agua Linda for a late dinner. Lots of chips and salsa, half the above burrito, and two shared pitchers of margs. It was a great evening.

*******

Flash forward to today. Saturday I spent some time perusing a book I’ve had checked out from the library since October: The Vegetarian Bible. Hubs and I spent a lot of time going through the “what do you want to eat?” “I dunno, what do you want to eat?” act last week, so I decided that I’d be prepared with two recipes we could have for dinner (and ideally leftovers) this week. Two’s not too overwhelming when you’re just starting out.

Dinner number one was a caponata of roasted vegetables. I can’t share the recipe, but it was good! The cookbook has a huge reference section in the front with lots of information about different approaches to diet, lifestyle and nutritional needs, and all of the major types of vegetables. It’s awesome! Something I’ll probably renew for a long time 🙂

It also (coincidentally) goes along with Anne P’s most recent post about trying a new food that you’ve always been scared of. I haven’t been afraid of eggplant, per se, but it is pretty new to me. My mom has always disliked eggplant so I never had it growing up. I didn’t really notice it in this except for larger pieces of skin which were still a little tough. I served it over some leftover brown rice so I didn’t actually get taste much about the salad on its own. We do have leftovers though! I’ll try again tomorrow.

IMG_2869

Served with a piece of onion ciabatta bread.

IMG_2871

*******

Dessert has an interesting story behind it:

IMG_2873

I was sitting on a bench in front of the law school on my afternoon break, reading Women’s Running magazine when a guy stops and says “hi, would you like a cookie?” I kind of hesitated and he explained that there was a tree one quad further up with cookies hanging from it encouraging people to give them away and he thought he’d brighten my day by giving it to me (was it that obvious my day needed help?). Well at that point my break was about up so I didn’t get a chance to investigate further, but I told my coworker about it and she came back to the office with an armful of cookies for the office.

I didn’t have time to sample my cookie before I got to man the service desk (seriously, my favorite part of the day most days) so I decided to save it for dessert. My coworker said they were good! The cookie tree was meant as a random act of kindness and I’ve heard theories that it was either a sorority or an art project. Either way they were popular!

And now I must get back to my bio pre-lab and the lecture homework. I’m trying to stay caught up this week since we have family stuff both Saturday and Sunday for Easter. I can’t believe its already test time again!

*******
On another note, Ashley is giving away Bondi Bands!  I’ve seen these everywhere and with my layers so short I need as wide a headband as I can get. Check them out!

3 Comments

  1. So, bored at work and I saw your Facebook post about eggplant. So, what I was going to send you is too long to do there. If you liked it at all I have an AMAZING ratatouille recipe that I try to shove on anyone who eats eggplant. It’s super healthy and all vegetables. I like to add a ton of red pepper flakes and goat cheese to finish it off. If you want to get fancy on it, it’s pretty if you want to mix red and yellow peppers with the greens.

    Yield: Makes 4 to 6 servings
    Ingredients

    * 1 or 2 large onions, sliced
    * 4 large garlic cloves, finely chopped
    * ½ cup olive oil
    * 2 green peppers, peeled and slivered
    * 1 large eggplant, diced
    * 4 or 5 small zucchini, cut into ¼-inch slices
    * 8 to 10 very ripe tomatoes, peeled, seeded, and chopped, or 2 to 3 cups canned Italian plum tomatoes
    * 1 tablespoon shredded fresh basil or 1 teaspoon dried
    * 1½ teaspoons salt
    * Freshly ground black pepper

    Directions

    Sauté the onions and garlic in the oil in a deep saucepan with a heavy bottom. When the onions are just translucent, add the peppers, eggplant, and zucchini, and mix together well. Reduce the heat, cover the pan tightly, and simmer for 10 minutes, shaking the pan or tossing the vegetables 2 or 3 times so they cook evenly. Add the tomatoes and the seasonings and continue simmering for another 10 or 12 minutes. Uncover the pan and allow the mixture to cook down and the liquid to reduce, stirring frequently. The vegetables should be somewhat intact, well mixed and blended but not mushy and liquid. Taste and correct the seasoning.

Leave a Reply

