Sunny Saturday

Dear god, where to start?! It was long weekend, which means three long blog posts for you guys. More fun for you, right?

Unfortunately not only was Disney’s Princess Half Marathon happening this weekend but the National Dance Association was holding their championships at Universal, so our hotel options turned out to be rather limited Friday night. No picture. Wasn’t worth it.

Saturday morning, after checking out of said crappy motel, we had a few hours to kill before lunch and headed to Celebration to check it out. So cute! It’s a planned community my dad mentioned to me, suggesting that we could grab a cup of coffee and stroll. Well we grabbed a cup of coffee and sat.

IMG_2683

The weather was perfect! Hot in the sun but the breeze just a tad too cool to sit in the shade.

IMG_2685

We were eventually kicked off a bench to clear a shot for the independent film being shot there, chatted with a shop keeper for a few minutes and headed to…

IMG_2702

Pizza Fusion! As mentioned before, I got to meet almost all of my favorite bloggers on Saturday! Group shot:

Ashley, Leslie, me, Julie, Kate, Anne P., Meghann, Kelly, Caitlin, Andrea, Ryan, Katy, Megan!

IMG_2708

Hubs and I started off by sharing a half portion of the Fusion salad with raspberry vinaigrette.

IMG_2687

Followed by a personal sized Farmer’s Market pizza : A farmerโ€™s medley of roasted artichoke hearts, red onion, roasted zucchini and roasted Portobello with tomato sauce, mozzarella, provolone and parmesan.

IMG_2695

This was awesome, seriously!

And we got to check out Meghann and Caitlin’s Girlfriend Getaway Chevy Traverses! I have to say, I’m not an SUV fan, but once there are kids in the picture we may consider one. I remember how much stuff my family would haul just for beach vacations and now that seats fold down into the floor it would make life so much easier :).

IMG_2712

After lunch I dragged Hubs to Disney’s Wide World of Sports for my first ever race expo! Jeez it was crazy down there. I picked up my bib and my swag and wandered around for a bit. I bought a 13.1 sticker for my car ๐Ÿ˜€ and I ran into MizFit! I felt like such a dork introducing myself, but she’s just as cool in real life as on the blog.

IMG_2713

Afterward we headed straight to Disney’s All-Star Sports Resort to check into our hotel. We were in the Surf’s Up complex, so cute!

IMG_2721

Not very well sound-proofed though. Even with ear plugs I could hear the kids in the pool and every toilet flush around us. Not conducive to pre-race sleep!

But its Disney!

IMG_2714

Had to taste Ryan’s awesome raw macaroons ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_2717

Then we ended up at a Panera for dinner. I wanted something safe for my tummy and Disney makes you pay for internet.

I got this awesome plate of carbs (definitely would have preferred an apple instead of piece of bread on the side, but he didn’t ask and I didn’t think about it). Half a garden style vegetable soup (with pesto!) in a bread bowl, and half a frontega chicken sandwich (smoked & pulled white meat chicken, mozzarella, tomatoes, red onions, chopped basil & chipotle mayonnaise, grilled hot on our Focaccia). Everything was amazing and I ate all but the baguette.

IMG_2723

I also bought a cup of coffee to take home for the next morning. Disney doesn’t provide coffee makers in their hotel rooms! The hotels we stayed at for half the price all had coffee makers!

Thanks to Panera’s free wi-fi I posted that brief post and we bought Universal tickets! I was seriously feeling the lack of internet the first day or so, but I kind of hated to come home to it (maybe because I know that I’ve got three massive blog posts in my future and am a true procrastinator at hear ๐Ÿ™‚ )

IMG_2720

Back at the hotel I got my race outfit laid out and my bag packed. I was in bed by 8:30 but definitely don’t think I started dosing off until 11 or so, and definitely didn’t sleep will until later than that. My alarm was set for 2:30, but that’s another post!

Leave a Reply

