Chili!

I don’t have pictures of most of my food today. It was all pretty standard except my lettuce was mildewed (again) so I bought some hummus and pretzels to fill the void.

I’ve eaten a fair amount of whole wheat goldfish over the past few days: I ate half of these as a snack after work and half with dinner, using my cute bowl from Tina‘s OpenSky store.

IMG_2674

Dinner is very much a fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants experiment. I let half of my bag of 16 bean soup soak all day, simmered the beans for an hour, drained them, and tossed in a can of veggie stock, a can of no salt added diced tomatoes, a small chopped onion, half a bag of Italian blend frozen vegetables, a packet of chili seasoning, and a bay leaf (cuz when else am I going to use them) and let it cook for another 20ish minutes.

IMG_2675

It tastes like a rather watered down chili. I think it will taste better after a night to meld though. We’ll see. Less veggie broth next time, I think. I’m pretty psyched about pretty much having my dinners made for the rest of the week though. And they’re vegetarian, maybe even vegan (I didn’t read the ingredients of the seasoning pack that closely, but I’d imagine it is!).

But I did get a potential shirt for the race (no idea what the temps will be like at 6:00 in the morning yet), a new iPod arm band (the old one being on its last leg), and new headphones (the left one of my old ones died on Thursday). Still not thinking about it though!

Now to go try to figure out what the heck I’m supposed to be reading about for bio tomorrow.

2 Comments

  1. Watered down? Haha, nothing a few shots of hot sauce can’t cure!
    I like that you use dried beans. I always use dried, because they’re just so much cheaper…and all you need to do is soak them!

Leave a Reply

