Reason to celebrate

There’s a new post on See cat Run! I’m sorry I’ve been so scattered… I tend to be a bit of a baby when I get sick and just hibernate the virus away. I do have two meals that I can share with you though đŸ™‚

Tuesday was National Pancake Day so Hubs, a friend and I headed to IHOP right after work for our free pancakes (and some fruit). Later that evening, after a two mile run, I decided that some vegetables might be in order and tried one of my trader Joes finds:

IMG_2665

IMG_2664

I think it was good? Honestly, not the best time to try it. It burned  my already sore throat and I couldn’t even taste it thanks to the cold. I’m sure I would have liked it on a regular evening though.

Today I went back and forth, back and forth, all day as to whether to run or not. I woke up exhausted (though I’ve been sleeping remarkably well for having a cold, love Nyquil!) and was still coughing a bit, but I was feeling better by the end of the day. The plan was to try for 4 or 5 but feel perfectly okay if I needed to stop early. I was scheduled for a 7 mile tempo run today and a two mile easy run tomorrow so I was hoping to do 5 today and 4 tomorrow and still come out even. Well I got going and felt great! I swear Matt‘s tip of breathing in for two steps and out for three really, really, really helps once you get used to it (from his latest Running Shorts article, here)! I looked at my Garmin at one point as was cruising at an 8:53/mi!!! Needless to say I reined it in a bit. Well I let myself turn around at about three (my fingers were a bit numb and I missed the start/stop button on my Garmin a few times) and run just six. The thinking is… I did an extra mile last Sunday, if I do tomorrow’s run and an extra (which I’m planning on) this Sunday, dropping one today (while I’m still recovering) will still come out even :D. I like. So here’s what it looked like (though the splits are off since I missed “start” a few times”:

  • Mile 1: 11:06
  • Mile 2: 10:35
  • Mile 3: 11:40
  • Mile 4: 9:17 (!)
  • Mile 5: 9:41 (!)
  • Mile 6: 10:00ish

My goal pace was supposed to be a 10:44/mi again. Not too shabby!

After a stretch in front of the space heater I put together about 8 oz water, half a scoop of protein powder, and about the same amount of Ovaltine. I don’t really recommend it… It would have been much better with a milk substitute than water. I would have liked a green monster, but we’re out of spinach. The ovaltine somehow seemed like a reasonable substitute.

Dinner proper was Near East couscous (herb chicken? flavor) with a few cashews and some Green Giant steam in the bag cheesy broccoli. Over all a much better dinner than the Kraft mac’n’cheese that was trying to tempt me. Lacking in whole grains, more veggies, and more protein, and it still had cheese, but it could definitely be worse. I’m probably going to have a grape fruit for dessert.

IMG_2667

*******

While I’m here, I’d like to give a little more link-love to a gal named Sophia. Her post yesterday really struck a chord with me. She wrote about her parents attitude towards their recent wedding anniversary and how we really shouldn’t need one or two days out of the year to show our loved ones that we love them. That day should be everyday. She’s much more eloquent about it, but its a subject that has come up a lot between Hubs and I and something we both need to work on. I saved it on my google reader and plan on going back and reading it several times over the next few weeks to really emblazon it on my brain. Thanks chica!!!

*******

Off to cut that grapefruit. Goodnight y’all!

1 Comment

  1. Aw, thank you for that sweet shout out…I’m so glad my post touched you more than the tummy! Hee hee, it’s always such a joy to be a part of a blog community that is more than pretty food!

    Man, you must really be sick if you can’t even taste that strong Indian fare…poor girl. I hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

