Five days in one? Why not

Hi there! I know I’ve been negligent. Again. I should have mentioned in my last post that I wouldn’t be posting on Thursday. Friday was my brother’s 19th birthday but due to work schedules we celebrated a day early. Hubs, Ollie and I drove to Atlanta after I got off work and the fam went to a restaurant called Mo Mo Ya (I always want to call it Yo Yo Ma) that is a hibachi grill. I didn’t pull my camera back out to catch any of the fire volcano stuff, but I did photograph my food! And I caught a piece of egg in my mouth, I’d never tried before! I was pretty pleased with myself 🙂

We started out with yummy soup, the standard stuff that I have no idea what its called. Broth, mushrooms and shallots.

IMG_2550

Then an iceberg salad with that awesome ginger dressing they serve at Japanese restaurants.

IMG_2551

I actually wanted the vegetable maki combo so that’s what I ordered. I had definitely planned to ask for brown sushi rice, but the poor waiter was already so confused that I wanted a sushi menu in the grill room, and that I was then actually ordering sushi off said sushi menu, that I let it go. These are six pieces of asparagus roll,  six pieces of avocado roll, and eight pieces of cucumber & yamagobo (Japanese carrot) roll. The best was definitely the avocado, the rest were actually a little boring. I ate them all anyway!

IMG_2552

While the fam was at dinner my parents’ neighbor offered to play with Ollie for a bit and she brought him a present! I love Mary Beth and I’m glad I got to see her, however briefly (she left before we got home, having her own dinner cooking on the stove). She bought him a puppy Kong stick that he loves. Two days later he already knew the sound of a peanut butter jar opening, rather like someone else in the bloggo-sphere. So cute. Plus it gives hubs and I half hour or so to get some studying done 🙂 Definitely not having kids while taking college classes!!!

IMG_2554

Lets see, looks like my camera is jumping to Friday dinner. Since we went to Atlanta on Thursday I did my tempo run on Friday.

  • Mile 1: No stats, very easy
  • Mile 2: 10:34
  • Mile 3: 10:07
  • Mile 4: 10:26
  • Mile 5: 10:27
  • Mile 6: 11:18

The plan called for 10:45 for the middle four miles so I think I did pretty well! I was also very happy to stop only twice (other than for stop lights). The first time I had to catch my breath after running up a hill on campus where I ended up keeping my pace up because I was running past bus stops :). I stopped and walked for about a minute before my cool down mile too.

Dinner was a stirfry that we’d been planning for a few days. Just a bag of stir fry veggies that Hubs heated up in a pan with some Mrs Dash tomato basil garlic (don’t know why but it worked), served over brown rice, with some popcorn shrimp for protein, and lots of soy sauce. Hubs and I watched The Darjeeling Limited (I liked it! Lots of good actors) and afterward I climbed straight to bed.

IMG_2560

Saturday breakfast was a two egg fluff with some toasted French bread and butter. Half of that bread was for the Hubs!

IMG_2562

And a grape fruit! This was delicious and I actually regretted putting honey on it, it didn’t need it at all! This was my first time trying to eat a grapefruit, but I had a coupon for two free ones from Earthfare. Now I want more!! It was so good and grape fruit juice reminds me of London. I’d have it every morning with breakfast while we stayed there… sigh.

IMG_2563

Hubs and I went to Panera for lunch on Saturday because its right next door to Target. I got tomato soup (yum!!) and the Mediterranean veggie half sandwich. The sandwich I noticed last time we were there and didn’t fully read the description this time… it has cilantro hummus on it and I am not a fan of cilantro. It wasn’t too overpowering so I ate it anyway.

Dinner was not one of my best moments so I didn’t photograph. Some folks came over and we ordered from a place called Gumby’s pizza who seems to only establish itself in college towns. They have this pizza called the Stoner Pie which we always get… pepperoni, bacon, extra cheese, french fries, and mozzarella sticks 🙂 I definitely pull the french fries and mozzarella sticks off and eat them separately. So I had a slice of that and a slice of the chicken bacon ranch pizza that we also got… Oh goodness, I really really don’t want to know what kind of damage I did. After dinner Alex and I retreated upstairs and watched Confessions of a Shopaholic. It was cute! I like Amy Adams and Krysten Ritter and of course Hugh Dancy.

I had leftover cheesy bread from Gumby’s for breakfast Sunday… oh well. I also had leftover Gumby’s for lunch after a trip to the mall where I got my eyebrows threaded with a friend and got some very surprising news… More on that later.

This morning (finally we’re almost current!) I had a serving of Quaker oatmeal squares with a handful of natural almonds and a sprinkling of Craisins, followed by half a grapefruit (Hubs ate the other half). Tasty!

IMG_2564

After another trip to Target I had a clementine while I waited on some bread to toast for peanut butter toast. I took a picture of the fruit but completely forgot about the toast! I’m sure you can imagine…

IMG_2565

After letting lunch digest and typing up my class notes from Thursday I went on a seven mile long run. I was so happy with how I did! No voluntary stops, just stopping for traffic (sure, one of those stops I might have waited a little longer than necessary…). I felt really good the whole time. Around mile four I started struggling for breath and around mile 4.5-5.5 I had to really talk myself into continuing to run because I knew I could do it! I made sure to start out really slow so that I wouldn’t tire myself too much.

  • Mile 1: 11:50
  • Mile 2: 11:44
  • Mile 3: 11:26
  • Mile 4: 11:16
  • Mile 5: 11:07
  • Mile 6: 10:58
  • Mile 7: 11:00

My goal was at 12:16/mi so I’d say I did pretty good! I don’t think I fueled very well though. Wish I’d had a more substantial, earlier lunch.

I came home and chugged a glass and a half of water followed by a glass of soy milk with a spoonful of protein powder. I can’t remember where I read that this is a good recovery drink for the lactose intolerant, but I did. I forgot to take a picture… the protein powder doesn’t mix very well anyway.

Dinner a few hours (and a shower) later was tilapia and whole grain shells with veggied up marinara sauce. We used this recipe for the fish and hubs added onion, green pepper, and baby portobello mushrooms to the sauce. It was pretty good and I ended up leaving some pasta on my plate.

IMG_2566

Now I’m drinking a glass of cabernet sauvignon that my parents gave us and I predict a slice of carrot cake in my future if my stomach empties a bit. My brother decided he doesn’t actually like carrot cake, so we got to bring half his birthday cake home with us.

*******

And now… On my About page I mention enjoying watching my body change as I grow fitter and I haven’t really followed up on that in awhile. How about now?

This weekend has been nice and warm (low to mid-60s) so on my last two runs I’ve had the chance to admire my sexy runners legs. Since starting running my calves have gotten a lot bigger (than the nothing I had before) which I’m not thrilled about but I can accept. My quads are definitely getting more and more defined though, which I’m loving. I think runners legs are so sexy. I’ve got a cut on the outside of each thigh and they’re nicely curved in the back and front.

I haven’t particularly noticed any difference in my torso and I guess my tush is a firmer but haven’t really checked 😉

The shock I got came yesterday at Victoria’s Secret. Let me say first that I get dressed by my closet, far away from my mirrors and most days in the dark, so I don’t really see myself shirtless very often. Well I stopped by Vicky’s Secret to see about exchanging some bras that I ordered online in the size I’ve worn since high school and seemed to be too small. Well evidently you can’t exchange things from online in the store but I asked her to measure me anyway so I’d know what size to order. Well evidently I’ve actually lost a cup size or two! Since then I’ve tried on my old bras in front of a mirror and it’s pretty obvious, but I was completely oblivious! Should make bras easier to find and I can buy them at cheaper places like Target (thus the trip back today). I have no idea why the two I ordered online seem too small, but oh well. It’s such a shock though… I haven’t really lost that much weight elsewhere… I tend to bounce back and forth about four pounds and when I went to the doctor right before Christmas I was back at the lower end of the spectrum. Sorry, this is still kind of mind blowing!!! It really just never occurred to me though they always say that’s the first place women lose weight. Maybe the weight loss will move down to the belly next… 🙂

*******

Alright, after that marathon of a post (remind me to post about upcoming race ruminations by the way…) I’m going to go read for a bit and then watch the premier of Life Unexpected. It comes on at bed time though, maybe not the best idea 🙂

Leave a Reply

