Organization!

I feel so, so organized today. Hooray! I didn’t feel rushed at any point, I’m going to try Google Tasks again, I’m caught up in my homework (except I haven’t taken notes on the stuff I’ve read yet) and worked on organizing my go-to notebook. Now I blog really quick and go read for fun. I haven’t done as much of that as I’d like, but oh well. You win some, you lose some.

Just a few notes about my day:

  • My projects at work seem to take longer than I expect them to, professors are making things more complicated than they should be and don’t pay attention to deadlines (then get angry at us when they’re reserve list isn’t processed the day after they turn it in).
  • I would have started taking notes on bio this evening but I’m using Hubs’ book (which is way more detailed than my class requires) and he needs it for his own homework.
  • I used to pull out recipes and workouts from Shape magazine (and now Self too) and I’ve finally started putting them all in a notebook organized by type. I also have various recipes I’ve printed out at work and beauty tips pulled from the magazines (eye make up looks I like or their “best buy” guides). I still have a lot of old magazines to go through but hopefully this will motivate me to actually do more strength training. I think Caitlin‘s and Tina‘s challenges should definitely help too.
  • I had a nice long conversation with my mom today about oatmeal 🙂 and even pointed her toward Ange’s crock pot apple oats as well as Kath’s tribute. We’ll see what comes of it.

Thinking of oatmeal… I had some for breakfast! This was just my usual 1/3 cup dry oats base with 1/3 cup water, 1/3 cup plain soy milk, 1/2 a banana, with a ton of cinnamon and a few drops of vanilla extract stirred in at the end. I used 1/4 of a leftover cinnamon roll as my topping which surprisingly only served to reinforce how salty the roll was! Something you don’t notice when eating it alone but was not a pleasant addition on my oats. I might have eaten the other 3/4 of the cinnamon roll after my oatmeal.

IMG_2547

Another lunch, another salad. Baby lettuce mix with a bit of green bell pepper, onion, and goat cheese. No idea what changed (probably just my taste buds) but this combination seemed amazing today (where as yesterday I wasn’t all that impressed). Blame it on hormones? Oh yeah, eaten with Ken’s lite balsamic vinaigrette and followed by Kashi cheddar tasty little crackers.

IMG_2546

My snacks were the same as yesterday, Stoneyfield’s O’soy yogurt in the morning, almonds and cereal followed by a clementine in the afternoon. But yesterday I ate the last of my Shredded Wheat’n’bran. Quaker cereals are on sale at Publix at the moment so I bought myself a treat… Quaker oatmeal squares! I love these things dearly though they aren’t nearly as good for you as the wheat’n’bran. Just a hint of brown sugar. I could probably eat the whole box in one sitting and be happy. Luckily I’m good with portions 🙂

The almonds I’m eating these days are roasted but unsalted. It’s been a bit of a journey from not liking any nuts at all to Blue Diamond’s smokehouse almonds, followed by a move to regular roasted/salted almonds and now here we are. I didn’t really like the roasted/unsalted at first but was a bit overzealous with Earthfare’s bulk bins so I ate them anyway and now I totally love them! Next on the agenda are natural almonds… but that’s mostly because I got a pack free with a coupon at Earthfare last week. I’m waiting till I finish these off though.

I went for my usual Tuesday easy run of two miles, averaging 11:00/mi the first half and 10:00/mi the second. I’m pretty happy about that.

I came home and shared some chips and salsa (Kroger brand tonight) with Hubs while my rice cooked (brown rice takes so long!) and then had some black beans and rice for my entree. I mixed it together with some cajun seasoning and it was pretty tasty! Nothing like a nice simple dinner from time to time though I’ve seriously overloaded on carbs today. Need to add some veggies in tomorrow! I’ve got a veggie stirfry in mind to use up some of this rice… 🙂

IMG_2548

I’m off to get ready for bed and then read a bit of Septimus Heap for awhile. I’m still waiting to see whether I get drawn in or not. If I don’t soon these books will be going back and I’ll move on to one of the many other novels I have checked out. Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

