New Year's Eve.

Okay, I guess I need to back up a bit again. Today is thursday (Happy New Years Eve by the way!) so Tuesday night was when this pizza was eaten. The boys bought premade crusts and we had a meat lovers (with leftover taco meat and shrimp) and veggie lovers. Terry (the semi-resident vegetarian) put together this lovely veggie pizza, of which I had just over 1/3. He diced red and green peppers, onions, tore up some spinach and mushrooms, and topped it with a variety of cheeses, we’ve got a ton in the fridge. I’m guessing Mexican, mozzarella and parmesian? Who knows, but it was delish and I told him so.

IMG_2505

Dan then made a dessert he’s been wanting us to try for a big. Banana sauteed in butter schnappes. The boys had a chocolate crackles ice cream while I had some more of this Breyer’s lactose free vanilla ice cream. It’s not as creamy as most ice cream, but Breyer’s I usually have issues with so this was definitely worth a try. Hubs spotted it at Wally-world the other day.

IMG_2507

It was another evening of reading on the couch while the boys played video games. No complaints here! I finished The Omnivore’s Dilemma. Pollan convinces me. I’m still going to stick with trying to only eat sustainable raised meat. The section about his experience hunting and gathering was really interesting, but not a tactic I’m going to try. He’s caught me, hook, line and sinker.

I asked Hubs to make breakfast yesterday morning and he made a spinach/onion scramble with garlic and herb seasoning. It was tasty!

IMG_2509

We ran some errands around lunch time (depositing Christmas money and paying rent). We had a coupon that was basically buy one Arby’s combo get on free and happened to pass by such a restaurant while out, so we indulged. Terry was playing with my camera and caught us in the act

IMG_2511

IMG_2512

Forgive my unwashed bedhead and lack of makeup.

I later ran a quick two miles, charged on by The Distillers and the occasional sprinkling rain. After a trip back to Wally-world to buy a second, smaller, more portable dog crate we put in Inglourious Basterds and, neither one of us being hungry, put dinner off till about midway through the movie. We had all the makings for the asparagus salad Hubs made awhile ago and asparagus that needed to be eaten, so we did. He sauteed red bell pepper, shallot, and the asparagus, and served over spinach with goat cheese and balsamic vinaigrette.

IMG_2515

The rest of the cooked veggies were eaten on the side of some tilapia filets that we bought frozen at Walmart. I vaguely followed this recipe but didn’t actually measure anything out. I added more parmesan when it came out of the oven.

IMG_2516

The movie wasn’t bad. Throughout Brad Pitt sounded like George Clooney in O Brother, Where art Thou? which is one of my favorite movies. I guess both characters were supposed to be from backwoods Tennessee but still.

We’re having lunch out and dinner in Atlanta so I won’t be blogging tonight (New Year’s Eve and all). But I had oatmeal for breakfast this morning! I cooked it on slightly lower heat and it came out much better. The peanut butter tasted better too. Go figure. I used 1/3 cup oats, 1/2 a large banana, some vanilla extract, a lot of cinnamon, and three berry Trader Joe’s granola and Krema natural peanut butter. No added salt and cheap. Perfect.

IMG_2517

I get to go back to Trader Joe’s today! And now I’m going to go use the gift certificate my brother gave me for Christmas at Victoria’s Secret’s semi-annual sale! I’m so excited 😀 .

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

