Link love!

Hey, it’s December! And the weather finally decided to man up and join in the season. Our front steps were iced over this morning! Thankfully my tush didn’t find out firsthand.

I bet you guys can’t guess what I had for breakfast! I’ve lowered my serving from 1/2 cup dry oats of 1/3 cup since I toss so much stuff on top, so after cooking 1/3 cup of oats in 3/4 cup of water I stirred in half a banana and topped it with about a table spoon of peanut butter, granola, and golden raisins.

IMG_2294

I was hungry today, I blame it on the slightly longer run yesterday. I indulged my tummy and had roasted almonds and Post Shredded Wheat’n’Bran which according to NuVal is one of the healthier cereals you can eat!

IMG_2295

Sometime today I made my own Gmail theme… Christmas colors! It makes me very happy so I just had to share! Nevermind the sexy Dr Cullen to the left of the browser there, he’s just keeping my company 🙂 (thinking of which, all Twilight fans (or even anti-Twilighters), please read Twilight in 15 minutes and New Moon in 15 minutes) I also get to preview Google Wave… I may or may not have an extra invitation lying around in case anybody else wants a preview… It’s kind of unimpressive so far since no one is on it. It would be soooo awesome for group school projects!

Screen shot 2009-12-01 at 7.41.42 PM

Lunch was very similar to yesterdays, spinach salad with a hard boiled egg and pear, I remembered Craisins today!

IMG_2293

After running a few errands I got home hungry again! I set my beans to simmering for a couple of hours and had a pumpkin muffin to hold me over.

IMG_2296

Followed by chips and salsa.

IMG_2297

Okay, let me just say that I’ve never used dry beans before but I bought a bag of 16 types of beans from Kroger (intended to be 16 bean soup)… the instructions say to bring to boiling and then simmer for 1.5-2 hours. Nothing about adding water back in throughout the simmering process… So my beans were mush and the bottom a bit burnt. I simmered them in water with a bit of vegetable broth so they were very tasty, just not very pretty to look at. I mixed some in with leftover brown rice and some frozen veggies.

IMG_2298

I sprinkled on some of this Cajun seasoning and am very disappointed to find that it includes salt (first ingredient in fact). That’s what makes Mrs Dash so awesome, all the flavor, none of the salt.

IMG_2299

It was tasty, even if it wasn’t very appealing to look at! And even leaving the burnt bits in the pot (to soak) I still have a ton of cooked beans to eat over the next few days.

*******

And now a few off the subject comments:

My grandfather pointed this article in this week’s TIME out to me about abused pit bulls. Our dogs were never fighting dogs, but Rose was definitely neglected and Gypsy looks exactly like one of the dogs in the slideshow, Winston (also the name of my last high school boyfriend)… there’s another shot of him, including his face, if you watch the video. They’re cousins, identical cousins…

And you’ve seriously got to watch the Muppet’s Bohemian Rhapsody. Terry showed it to me Saturday night and it was sent out on the library listserv this morning. Awesome!

My daddy’s in China on business and had the “privilege” of pigeon for dinner last night… I’m not sure I particularly envy him at the moment 🙂

I’m inadvertently joining Caitlin in her Responsible Spending Month… and reacquainting myself with Mint.com. I spent $250 on food last month, not including all of the groceries Hubs bought. I’m going to see how much I can lower that number this month. Even including the Christmas gift baking I’ll be doing.

1 Comment

  1. I do the job with these dogs and as far as animal behavior goes, I’m a firm believer in nurture and coaching. I have met Jack Russell Terriers that I wouldn’t go in close proximity to once again, but have by no means had a awful experience with an American Staffordshire Terrier. If you are talking about their owners- nicely, which is a different story. Humans are creatures as nicely, and we have a tendency to each have our individual strategies about “moral concepts”.

Leave a Reply

