vino please

It’s Friday! Okay, its Thursday. But I get to sleep in tomorrow, so I’m excited.

Hey look, I did something different with my oatmeal this morning! To keep Hubs and I of getting too sick too quickly of the pumpkin oats, I cut up half a honeycrisp apple and added maple syrup. And I might have added some pumpkin granola… I’m sorry, I’m addicted, I know. And I might be planning on buying more tomorrow. I am going to Atlanta, where there’s a Trader Joes, after all. But back to the oats…

IMG_2178

May I just say that honeycrisp apples and Jiff natural style peanut butter are a match made in heaven? I’ve tried peanut butter on apples before and wasn’t that impressed, but this is seriously amazing. Tomorrow maybe I’ll remember to cook the apple a bit so its nice and soft.

Lunch was the rest of my rice and beans from yesterday and the last of my spinach doused in dressing. Unimpressive, so no picture.

Dinner was impressive though. Hubs decided it was his night to cook, so we stopped and bought salmon steaks at Kroger before coming home from campus. He made macademia nut encrusted salmon steaks with a parsely/lemon/butter sauce, served over rice and I… poured myself some wine.

IMG_2182

The nuts were awesome on this! He followed this recipe, minus the parmesan. I didn’t even miss the cheese. And we have leftovers ๐Ÿ™‚

********

Alright, I’m going to get a little personal here, feel free to tune out and move on, but I need to ‘tell’ someone.

I’m looking forward to tomorrow, but I’m also terrified. I’m moving on up in the world of birth control to an IUD. I was expecting a painful procedure, but the Husband was going to be there to hold my hand and help me through it. I didn’t realize what a comfort that knowledge was until he decided he didn’t have time to go because he also has a test tomorrow. It didn’t help that my coworker, who went through the same thing soon after giving birth said that I’ll get to experience a brief moment of labor. I don’t do well with pain. I’ve already told the doctor’s nurse and she’s reassured me that they’ll be ready for me with a cool exam room and antinausea meds if needed, but I don’t want to go through it.

A copay of $15 for 5 years of childless bliss is worth a day or two of pain though, if the alternative is $1500 for monthly birth control. We know we won’t be ready for kids for at least two years, probably four so it’s definitely worth it. I know its just two days, but it’s scary to go through it alone. Alex is being awesome and driving me there and back and maybe we’ll have time to watch an episode of Gossip Girl afterward. I definitely plan on continuing my bonding with the heating pad.

*******

But if we move onto happier thoughts I’m going to start planning on recreating last night’s dessert…

IMG_2177

Yogi bedtime tea (weaning myself off the two tablespoons of honey I used to drink it with, it’s plenty sweet on its own!) with a Trader Joes maple cookie. These are amazing, even if my strongest association with the flavor is McDonald’s syrup… Love them. And sweet enough that just one cookie is satisfying. Oh this heating pad is making me sleepy ๐Ÿ™‚

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

