My name in music

It’s late and I just randomly thought of something to post for today: five songs or pieces of music that speak to you or bring back memories.

First up is James Taylor’s Going to Carolina. My dad used to sing it to me at bed time, just like my brother got to hear his Sweet Baby James.

Somewhere in middle school there arrived The Offsprings Pretty Fly for a White Guy on MTV and it set off a huge and continuing love for the band.

Incubus’ Aqueous Transmission actually inspired my undergraduate application essay.

The Beatles’ Blackbird is the epitome of bittersweet. It was and is my absolutely favorite song that Jason would play on guitar. (Although he was damn sexy doing Muse’s Hysteria on the base.)

And now, with my birthday next week, I’d have to say that Jimmy Buffett’s version of Sweet Caroline is very timely. Beginning two years ago, my friends started a tradition of having serenading me with it on my birthday.

In 2011 it involved actually being lifted up on a chair

Image

Let’s not judge the bangs. They’re a lesson that it has taken a long time to learn.

Last year was a smaller gathering, but they still made it happen.

This year I got it a few weeks early at karaoke a few weeks ago.

Image

Oh you bet there’s a video

That followed by Leaving on a Jet Plane, but that’s a story which is still in the works.

Image

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

